Can My Employer Legally Make Me Work Overtime

Michigan`s overtime laws require that overtime apply to employers with two or more employees. For more information about Michigan`s mandatory overtime laws, visit the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs website. The ideal time to do this is usually after you have presented your case and an offer has been made. Talk to potential colleagues and find out how many hours they usually worked and how they perceived management expectations. Ask your potential supervisor what their expectations are. Review all company policies through human resources. It`s worth talking to your supervisor about why you can`t work overtime. Family commitments, childcare, special events, extracurricular activities and previous commitments are important. Employees may be asked to work mandatory overtime and, unfortunately, they do not have to be paid extra. Their working hours are flexible and all included in their salary. If you`re new to the employer, ask experienced employees about regular overtime cycles so you don`t turn a temporary phenomenon into too big a problem. The RSA`s payroll and overtime rules apply in Mississippi. For more information about Mississippi`s overtime laws, see

Simply put, as long as you are an unreleased worker, your employer must pay you for EVERY minute you work and pay you an hour and a half for every minute you work more than 40 hours. Period. When you start a job, the ugliest sides of the job are not always clear. Overtime policies are sometimes confusing or trivial. Your work`s overtime policy may say something like: For example, in the food industry, it`s not uncommon for waiters and waitresses to work for each other when someone can`t work for some reason. However, if your employer has a policy for more than 40 hours per week and you have already worked 40 hours, your employer`s rule does not allow you to intervene for someone who could not work their shift unless they had received explicit permission from your supervisor. There is nothing inherently illegal about this overtime policy and an employer who has such a rule does not necessarily deceive you about wages. Current U.S. federal laws dictate how employers can require employees to work overtime. In general, employers can require 100 or more hours of overtime without breaking federal law. The majority of state laws are similar to federal laws in that they do not limit the amount of overtime employers can add to employees` schedules.

On the other hand, some states have laws that impose regular meal and rest breaks after employees have worked for a certain number of consecutive hours. The RSA`s overtime rules dictate Wyoming`s overtime laws. You can read more about Wyoming`s mandatory overtime laws and wages on Under Hawaiian overtime laws, employees who are guaranteed at least $2,000 per month are exempt from state overtime and minimum wage laws. Employers covered by the RSA are also exempt as long as the state minimum wage is below the federal minimum. Employees in the seasonal agricultural, sugarcane and dairy industries can work overtime if they have worked more than 48 hours per work week. Visit the Wage Standards Division website for more information on mandatory overtime laws in Hawaii. Agreed normal hours should be used if they are less than the legal maximum normal working time. For example, if you work 32 to 38 hours per week, there is an agreed average work week of 35 hours, and thirty-five hours are the numbers used to determine the regular rate of pay.

However, in cases where the work week is less than 40 hours, the law does not require the payment of the overtime premium, unless the employee works more than eight hours per working day or more than 40 hours per work week. In other words, assuming you are employed under a policy that provides for a 35-hour work week, the law does not require the employer to pay the overtime premium only after eight hours per work day or 40 hours per work week. If you work more than 35 hours but less than 40 hours per work week, you are entitled to overtime in addition to your normal rate of pay, unless you work more than eight hours per business day or 40 hours per work week. Kentucky`s overtime laws also comply with the RSA. Visit the Cabinet website for more information on Kentucky`s mandatory overtime laws. Mandatory overtime, often referred to as forced overtime, is defined as any hour that is greater than the standard 40-hour work week (in the United States) that the employer makes mandatory. Employment contracts also have different rules. Whatever hours are indicated by your contract, these are the hours you need to work.

The RSA rules comply with South Carolina`s overtime laws. For more information about mandatory overtime laws in South Carolina, visit the South Carolina Department of Administration website. Indiana is another state that adheres to the FLSA and requires employers to pay workers a wage and a half if they work more than 40 hours a week. To learn more about mandatory overtime laws in Indiana, visit the Indiana Department of Labor website. That depends. An employee must be paid overtime unless they meet the exemption status requirement under federal and state laws or are expressly exempt from overtime by the provisions of the California Labor Code or one of the Industrial Welfare Commission`s wage orders that govern wages, hours, and working conditions. If you are concerned about the amount of overtime required in a potential job, make an effort to investigate that employer`s practices before signing an employment contract. We cannot guarantee that overtime will be available. Reasonable overtime may be required from time to time.

If possible, advance notice will be given. All employees are expected to work the necessary hours. If your employer says they have to work you 48 hours next week and you give up at 40 hours, they have every right to write to you or even fire you because you don`t work when you should. Know the laws of your state so that you can be informed if you are exploited. Having a baseline of your right can help protect you from working too many hours or not getting paid enough. However, your boss usually has the right to fire you if you don`t work the requested hours. There`s not much you can do if you`re an all-you-can-eat employee and your boss has followed your state laws and industry regulations. .